In Google Scholar preferences, the correct option “Queensland University of Technology – Get fulltext @ QUT” is now visible. (QUT Library Links appear automatically for staff & students in our IP range, when connecting from on-campus).

As usual, full-text of journal articles is available through the “Get fulltext@QUT” (QUT Fulltext Finder) links associated with individual Google Scholar search results.

This regards the known issue with display of QUT Library Links within Google Scholar. A resolution of the display issue is expected from Google by 26 September 2009.

The following workaround is still valid:

To check the availability of full-text journal articles listed in Google Scholar search results, please search the QUT Library Catalogue for the journal title you require.

Please see the following page (under heading: “Find articles from a reference”) for a guide:
http://www.library.qut.edu.au/find/articles/

For further advice, including updates and details of Google Scholar preferences, visit:
http://www.library.qut.edu.au/db/5394f

EBSCOhost’s Research Starters – Sociology is on trial until 30th June 2010.

Access via: http://www.library.qut.edu.au/db/5493f

Research Starters – Sociology provides students with a solid foundation for their research and assignments, as well as overview information on topics relevant to their studies. Comprehensive summaries of discipline-specific topics help students to grasp the broad outlines of a subject, realize its real world applications, critically engage it, and locate sources for advanced research. Articles average 3,000 words, providing concise yet more in-depth content than most textbook or encyclopedia entries.

Research Starters – Sociology contains Abstracts, a Keyword List of words pertinent to the articles, an Overview to explain various topics’ relevance to sociology, Further Insights/Applications to demonstrate how the points discussed in the overview can be applied to everyday or academic issues in sociology, a Viewpoints/Issues/Discourse section to help the reader develop a critical perspective on a topic, a glossary of Terms & Concepts, a Bibliography and a Suggested Reading list.

Subject matter experts holding advanced degrees in Sociology were consulted to ensure that the articles encompassed current trends and popular topics.

The Research Starters – Sociology articles are sorted among twenty-six categories, each of which contains between four and thirty-five article topics: Aging & Elderly Issues, Culture, Day to Day Social Interaction, Deviance & Social Control, Educational Sociology, Family & Relationships, Global Stratification, History of Sociology, Population, Urbanization & the Environment, Race & Ethnicity, Research Methods, Sex, Gender & Sexuality, Social Change, Social Interaction in Groups & Organizations, Social Issues & Public Policy, Social Movements & Collective Behavior, Socialization, Societies, Society & Technology, Sociological Theory, Sociology & Related Fields, Sociology of Health & Medicine, Sociology of Politics & Government, Sociology of Religion, Stratification & Class, and Work & the Economy.

The JURN site brings together humanities and social sciences articles that are made available from the Directory of Open Access Journals and the Intute: Arts & Humanities and Social Sciences websites. Additionally, the site brings together pieces from 13 fine-arts magazines and full-text proceedings from conference proceedings.
The search on the home page searches the 2148 scholarly (ish) journals that the site indexes, all of which have major online content.
More information is available here:

http://jurnsearch.wordpress.com/about/

Go to http://www.jurn.org/

QUT Library has approved Social Work Abstracts for  trial in 2009.  Social Work Abstracts contains information on the fields of social work and human services from 1977 to present. The database provides exceptional coverage of more than 450 journals in all areas of the profession, including theory and practice, areas of service, social issues, and social problems.

Other trials approved include Critical Video Editions – Counselling and Therapy in Video and Green Building Council of Australia.

Also, Papers Invited, which we are currently trialling, has been approved for continued subscripition.  Papers Invited is the largest databases of  ‘calls for papers’ for conferences and special issues.

We have arranged a short term trial to ACLS Humanities E-Book http://www.HumanitiesEBook.org

 It is in their words:

“a digital collection of over 1,700 full-text titles offered by the ACLS in collaboration with twelve learned societies, nearly 95 contributing publishers, and librarians at the University of Michigan’s Scholarly Publishing Office.”

When prompted, users should select “UM Login” and enter the username and password contained on the Short Term Trials page.

The trial ONLY runs for September, so if you have time to have a look and let us know whether you think it would be worth trying to get in the future that would be useful.

EBSCOHost 2.0 is the new interface to the EBSCO database suite released in July 2008.

More information about new key features can be found at EBSCO’s website.

Some databases on this platform you may find useful are :

Australia/New Zealand Newspaper & Reference Centre (via EBSCOhost) (Newspapers)

Academic Search Elite (via EBSCOhost)

GeoRef (via EBSCOhost)

PsycINFO (via EBSCOhost)

You should find the new interface more intuitive and more easily navigable.